Support First Things by turning your adblocker off or by making a  donation. Thanks!

ROFTers stands for Readers of First Things. For decades, enterprising readers have created ROFTers groups to convene local readers of the magazine for regular discussion and fellowship. The proliferation of ROFTers groups nationally and even internationally has been entirely organic, and testifies to the strength and commitment of the First Things community. 

At the behest of local ROFTers group leaders, First Things is exploring ways to support existing groups and grow the ROFTers network further. If you would like to start a ROFTers group in your area, update the information for an existing ROFTers group, or have ideas for strengthening the ROFTers group network, please contact Carter Skeel, Director of Development, at cskeel@firstthings.com or 212-627-1985.

To find a local ROFTers group, please review the list below. Groups are listed alphabetically by state; groups outside the United States are listed last.


ALABAMA 

Birmingham 
Corresponding Secretary
alabamarofters@gmail.com
(Trying to Form)

ARIZONA

Mesa
Mr. Joe Godal
joeecce@gmail.com
610-334-1302
(Trying to Form)

Phoenix
Mr. Andy Halaby
andy.halaby@gtlaw.com
602-796-6160
(Active)

Tucson
Rev. Joshua Palmer
pastor.joshua.palmer@gmail.com
520-271-8157
(Trying to Form)

CALIFORNIA

Greater Sacramento Area
Mr. Thomas Wallace
thom.wallace@icloud.com
(Active)

San Diego
Ms. Janet Cooper
jcooperfer@cox.net
619-296-1438
(Trying to Form)

San Mateo / San Francisco Bay area
Mr. Chris Foreman
Chrisalanforeman@gmail.com
415-235-8609
(Trying to Form)

Santa Barbara
Drs. Andrew & Jana Mullen
amullen@westmont.edu
805-695-0257
(Trying to Form)

Thousand Oaks
Ms. Linda Nicolosi 
linda12333@yahoo.com
805-496-1371
(Trying to Form)

COLORADO

Denver (Wheat Ridge)
Mr. Dennis Floyd
drfloyd@comcast.net
303-202-6792
(Active since 2003)

CONNECTICUT

Greater Hartford area
Mr. James Pezzulo
jamespezzulo@gmail.com
860-463-2079

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Washington
Ms. Genea Callahan
genea.callahan@gmail.com
(Trying to Form)

FLORIDA

Fort Myers Beach / Bonita Springs
Mr. Michael Rowe
mgr3334@yahoo.com

Land o' Lakes 
Mr. Patrick Wheeler
jpatwheel@gmail.com
(Trying to Form)

St. Petersburg
Mr. Robert Ross
anchor275@gmail.com
727-362-8699
(Trying to Form)

West Palm Beach
Mr. Garry Collins
garry.m.collins@gmail.com
917-828-4963
(Trying to Form)

GEORGIA

Atlanta
Kirk Susong
ksusong@yahoo.com
(Trying to Form)

Macon
Ms. Jacqueline Kennedy-Dvorak
kennedy.jacqueline@gmail.com
478-335-4387
(Active)


IOWA

Ames
Rev. Russell Melby
norskeboy@aol.com
515-233-4830
(Trying to Form)

Pella
Dr. James A. Barham
jamesabarham215@gmail.com
708-305-0257
(Trying to Form)

ILLINOIS

Chicago
Mr. Andrey Drozd
andrey.m.drozd@gmail.com
(Active)

Decatur
Mr. Gary Burlington
katwishi@burlingtons.net
217-391-4667

Fr. David Eynon
FrDavidEynon@mail.goarch.org
(Trying to Form)

INDIANA

Indianapolis
Mr. Brandon Brown
brpbrown@iu.edu
317-517-7307

KANSAS

Wichita
Mr. Malcom Harris
malcolmcharrissr@mac.co
316-650-6599
(Active)

KENTUCKY

Frankfort
Mr. Mark Thornewill
markthornewill@gmail.com
(Trying to Form)

MARYLAND

Annapolis
Mr. and Mrs. Collan and Sarah Rosier
sarah.e.rosier@gmail.com
443-964-5992
(Trying to Form)

Baltimore
Mr. G. Edward Dickey
gedickey@verizon.net
410-467-9545
(Active)

Easton
Mr. Jim Duncan
Jim.Duncan@navtrak.net
410-215-6008
(Trying to Form)

MASSACHUSETTS

Boston
Mr. Joe Robinson
robinson.joseph.e@gmail.com
614-218-4448

Worcester
Mr. John Edward Keough 
jkeough@clarku.edu
(Trying to Form)

MICHIGAN

Ann Arbor
Mr. James Davis
davis@mail.ic.edu
(Active)

Flint
Ms. Kimberley Laux
kimberws@umflint.edu
810-394-3381
(Trying to Form)

Grand Rapids
Mr. Derek Kooistra
derrickkooistra@gmail.com
616-862-0920
(Trying to Form)

Novi
Mr. Marc Sierra
msierra@comcast.net 
(Active)

Port Huron / Sarnia, Ontario
Mr. Edward Amsden
edwardamsden@gmail.com
585-360-3770
(Trying to Form)

Traverse City
Mr. Steve Francis and Mr. Mike Mulcahy
francis4elkrapids@gmail.com or mike.mulcahy7@gmail.com
(Trying to Form)

Tri-Cities Area
(Grand Haven, Spring Lake, Ferrysburg)

Mr. William Werner
wlbcwerner@gmail.com
(Active)

Washtenaw County
Mr. James Davis
davis@mail.ic.edu
734-253-2311
(Active)

MINNESOTA

Farmington
Mr. Steve Clark
612-303-4215
(Trying to Form)

MISSOURI

Kansas City
Mr. Russ Saltzman
russell.e.saltzman@gmail.com
816-529-9884
(Trying to Form)

St. Louis 
Mr. Demetrios G. Tsikalas
demetrios.tsikalas@gmail.com
314-323-2838

NEBRASKA

Lincoln
Mr. Joe Bowen
jjjbowen@gmail.com
402-541 4365

Omaha
Mr. Steven Hotovy
roftersomaha@gmail.com
402-980-7757
(Active)

NEVADA

Las Vegas
Mr. John Lynn Gullickson
johnlynngullickson@hotmail.com
702-354-8657
(Trying to Form)

NEW HAMPSHIRE

Wolfeboro
Mr. James O'Rourke
jorourke@metrocast.net
(Trying to Form)

NEW JERSEY

Allenwood
Mr. Bill Lang
earlang@verizon.net
732-292-3044 / 732- 682-5397
(Trying to Form)

NEW YORK

Bronxville
Ms. Betsy Nolan
ENolan8358@aol.com
914-779-0976
(Trying to Form)

Earlton
Mr. Wayne Sheridan
waysher@hotmail.com
207-350-6098
(Trying to Form)

New York
Ms. Nona Aguilar
Nona2000@aol.com
212-532-5129
(Active)

Rochester
Mr. James P. Burns III and Ms. Alisia Chase
a.gracechase@gmail.com
585-794-2721

NEW MEXICO

Las Cruces
Mr. John A. Pummell
pummelljohn@gmail.com
575-652-2419
(Trying to Form)

Los Alamos
Andrew Henrick
ahenrick@me.com
610-620-5583
(Trying to Form)

NORTH CAROLINA

Summerfield
Mr. Bruce Peterson
bpetersennc@gmail.com
703-307-6886
(Trying to Form)

Durham (Duke University)
Drs. Allard and Sommerville
Center for Christianity and Scholarship
info@christianityandscholarship.org
919-358-0868
(Active: the second Friday of the month at Duke University Bostock Library)

Rocky Mount
Mr. Andrew Votipka
votipkaa@gmail.com
716-796-4614
(Trying to Form)

 Charlotte
Mr. Taylor Schmidt
taylor.g.schmidt@gmail.com
336-740-2774
(Active: Meets second Friday of each month at Olde Mecklenburg Brewery)

OHIO

Columbus
Mr. Adam Pasternack
firstthingscolumbus@gmail.com
(Trying to Form)

Steubenville
Ms. Prudence Robertson
mprobertson97@gmail.com
(Trying to Form)

OKLAHOMA

Oklahoma City 
Mr. Jason Sutton
suttonlawokc@gmail.com 
 405-328-8382
(Trying to Form)Tulsa

Mr. Robert Bearer
bbearer@barberbartz.com
918-599-7755
(Active)

OREGON

Milwaukie (near Portland)
Mr. Phil DiGregorio
phild57@msn.com
971-409-0641

PENNSYLVANIA

Lancaster
Mr. Steven Wissler
swissler@yahoo.com
717-738-2724
(Active)

Lehigh Valley / Allentown area
Mr. and Mrs. Frank and Molly DeVito
frankdevito12@gmail.com

(Active: Meets third Wednesday of every month)

Philadelphia
Ms. Deborah Conley
dconleygorgas@msn.com
215-843-2852
(Trying to Form)

Pittsburgh
Mr. Daniel Barbero
rofterspittsburgh@protonmail.com
(Trying to Form)

State College/Altoona
Mr. Shelby Bowden
ShelbyMBowden@gmail.com
864-630-4788

RHODE ISLAND

Providence
Mr. David Zizik
dzizik@ziziklaw.com
401-265-5151
(Trying to Form)

SOUTH CAROLINA

Anderson
Mr. Ray Ireland
rain62467@charter.net
(Active)

Beaufort
Mr. George Grove and Mr. David Simpson
dlsimpsonjr@gmail.com or ageogrove3@gmail.com
(Trying to Form)

Kingstree
Fr. Scott Francis Binet
SFBRome2@hotmail.com
(T
rying to Form) 

TENNESSEE

Murfreesboro
Mr. Steven Odom
steven.odom@gmail.com
615-631-1178
(Trying to Form)

TEXAS

Austin

Karl Stephan
ks22@txstate.edu
512-754-9760
(Active)


Dallas
Mr. Curt Lampkin
curtlampkin@charter.net
817-444-6677
(Active)

Dallas / Fort Worth
Mr. Aaron Closson
adclosson@gmail.com
972-898-6472
(Active)

Denton
Mr. Michael Morris
baldcouch1@yahoo.com
(Trying to Form)

Houston
Mr. Justin Baker
mail4justinbaker@gmail.com
281-546-9801
(Trying to Form)

Longside
Mr. Charles Childers
cchild6898@aol.com
719-896-6016
(Trying to Form)

Mount Pleasant
Mr. Drew Nelson and Mr. Mike Schutt
schutt.mike@gmail.com
(Trying to Form)

Rio Grande Valley
Mr. Gabriel Ozuna
gabriel.ozuna@aya.yale.edu
(Trying to Form)

San Antonio
Phil Strauch Jr.
pasjr@sbcglobal.net 
210-494-6320
(Trying to Form)

UTAH

Logan
Mr. Isaiah Jones
isaiah.jones@usu.edu
478-361-0259
(Trying to Form)

VIRGINIA

Charlottesville
Mr. Edward Maillet
edmaillet@centurylink.net
(Active)

Reston
Mr. Paul Szerszen
pgdom@verizon.net
(Active)

WASHINGTON

Langley
Mr. and Mrs. Fred and Carol Olson
skylark@whidbey.com
360-579-4350
(Trying to Form)

La Connor
Mr. Richard Doerflinger
doerfling@msn.com
240-893-1434
(Active)

Sammamish/Bellevue
Ms. Kathi Lehr
kathilehr@comcast.net
206 755-3411


WISCONSIN

Kenosha
Ms. Bethany Gates
bethanygates@gmail.com
(Trying to Form)

Madison
Mr. Sam Berg
samueltberg88@gmail.com
262-498-6853

Oshkosh
Ms. Vicki Marxen
vmarxen@new.rr.com
920-385-0022
(Trying to Form)

Racine
Mr. Fred Beuttler
fredbeuttler@gmail.com
(Trying to Form) 

CANADA

Abbotsford
Mr. Ralph Grabowski
grabowski@telus.net
(Trying to Form)

Edmonton
The Rev'd Lars Nowen
RevLFNowen@gmail.com
780-807-3136
(Trying to Form)

Ottawa
Mr. Daniel Bezalel Richardsen and Mr. Joel Reinhardt
ROFTERS.Ottawa@gmail.com
613-799-0787
(Active)

Winnipeg
Ms. Jodi Kristjanson
jodi.jigisha@gmail.com
204-474-2707
(Active)

Toronto
Mrs. Rebecca Enkin
renkin@sympatico.ca
647-464-9749
(Trying to Form)

Victoria
Mrs. Kathryn Kearney
kathrynkearney52@gmail.com
778-433-7698
(Active)

AUSTRALIA

Brisbane 
Mr. Michael Cashman
cashmanmgc@outlook.com
0401-308-665
(Trying to Form)

Canberra
Mr. Mike Swan
mike.swan1951@gmail.com
(Trying to Form)

Melbourne
Mr. James Strohfeldt
pisces@bigpond.net.au
0429-389-908
(Trying to Form)

Sydney
Mr. Patrice Daly
rofterssydney@gmail.com
(Trying to Form)

COLOMBIA

Medellín (or Bogotá)
Dr. David Baer
dbaer@unisbc.edu.co
(Trying to Form)

ISRAEL

Modi'in, between Tel Aviv and Jerusalem
Mr. Mike Gold
goldmw@gmail.com
+011 972-8-921-8733
(Trying to Form)

ITALY

Rome
Br. Jonathan Flemings, LC
JFlemings@legionaries.org
+39 389-940-7337
(Active)

JAPAN

Tokyo
Mr. Martin Triggs
triggs17@yahoo.com
(Trying to Form)

UNITED KINGDOM

London
Mr. David Sergeant 
dtpsergeant@gmail.com
07305909969
(Active)