Support First Things by turning your adblocker off or by making a  donation. Thanks!

ROFTers stands for Readers of First Things. For decades, enterprising readers have created ROFTers groups to convene local readers of the magazine for regular discussion and fellowship. The proliferation of ROFTers groups nationally and even internationally has been entirely organic, and testifies to the strength and commitment of the First Things community. 

At the behest of local ROFTers group leaders, First Things is exploring ways to support existing groups and grow the ROFTers network further. If you would like to start a ROFTers group in your area, update the information for an existing ROFTers group, or have ideas for strengthening the ROFTers group network, please contact Carter Skeel, Director of Development, at cskeel@firstthings.com or 212-627-1985.

To find a local ROFTers group, please review the list below. Groups are listed alphabetically by state; groups outside the United States are listed last.


ALABAMA 

Birmingham 
Corresponding Secretary
alabamarofters@gmail.com
(Trying to Form)

ARIZONA

Mesa
Mr. Joe Godal
joeecce@gmail.com
610-334-1302
(Trying to Form)

Phoenix
Mr. Andy Halaby
andy.halaby@gtlaw.com
602-796-6160
(Active: Meets first Wednesday of each month)

CALIFORNIA

Greater Sacramento Area
Mr. Thomas Wallace
thom.wallace@icloud.com
(Active: Meets second Saturdays)

San Diego
Ms. Janet Cooper
jcooperfer@cox.net
619-296-1438
(Trying to Form)

Santa Barbara
Drs. Andrew & Jana Mullen
amullen@westmont.edu
805-695-0257
(Trying to Form)

Thousand Oaks
Ms. Linda Nicolosi 
linda12333@yahoo.com
805-496-1371
(Trying to Form)

COLORADO

Denver (Wheat Ridge)
Mr. Dennis Floyd
drfloyd@comcast.net
303-202-6792
(Active since 2003)

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Washington
Ms. Genea Callahan
genea.callahan@gmail.com
(Active)

FLORIDA

Land o' Lakes 
Mr. Patrick Wheeler
jpatwheel@gmail.com
(Trying to Form)

St. Petersburg
Mr. Robert Ross
anchor275@gmail.com
727-362-8699
(Trying to Form)

West Palm Beach
Mr. Garry Collins
garry.m.collins@gmail.com
917-828-4963
(Trying to Form)

GEORGIA

Atlanta
Kirk Susong
ksusong@yahoo.com
(Active: Meets quarterly)

Macon
Ms. Jacqueline Kennedy-Dvorak
kennedy.jacqueline@gmail.com
478-335-4387
(Trying to form)


IOWA

Ames
Rev. Russell Melby
norskeboy@aol.com
515-233-4830
(Trying to Form)

ILLINOIS

Decatur
Mr. Gary Burlington
katwishi@burlingtons.net
217-391-4667

Fr. David Eynon
FrDavidEynon@mail.goarch.org
(Trying to Form)

INDIANA

Indianapolis
Mr. Brandon Brown
brpbrown@iu.edu
317-517-7307
(Active: Meets last Wednesday of the month)

KANSAS

Wichita
Mr. Malcom Harris
malcolmcharrissr@mac.co
316-650-6599
(Active)

KENTUCKY

Frankfort
Mr. Mark Thornewill
markthornewill@gmail.com
(Trying to Form)

MAINE

Camden
Mr. Jeffrey Lewis
revcapjclewis@gmail.com
(Trying to Form)

MARYLAND

Annapolis
Mr. and Mrs. Collan and Sarah Rosier
sarah.e.rosier@gmail.com
443-964-5992
(Trying to Form)

Baltimore
Mr. G. Edward Dickey
gedickey@verizon.net
410-467-9545
(Active)

Easton
Mr. Jim Duncan
Jim.Duncan@navtrak.net
410-215-6008
(Trying to Form)

MASSACHUSETTS

Boston
Mr. Matt LeBlanc
mattleblanc275@yahoo.com
(Active)

Worcester
Mr. John Edward Keough 
jkeough@clarku.edu
(Trying to Form)

MICHIGAN

Ann Arbor
Mr. Paul Malocha and Mr. James Davis
pmalocha@yahoo.com or davis@mail.ic.edu
(Active: Meets second Tuesday of each month at Grand Traverse Pie Company)

Grand Rapids
Mr. Derek Kooistra
derrickkooistra@gmail.com
616-862-0920
(Active: Meets monthly)

Novi
Mr. Marc Sierra
msierra@comcast.net 
(Active)

Port Huron / Sarnia, Ontario
Mr. Edward Amsden
edwardamsden@gmail.com
585-360-3770
(Trying to Form)

Tri-Cities Area
(Grand Haven, Spring Lake, Ferrysburg)

Mr. William Werner
wlbcwerner@gmail.com
(Active)

Washtenaw County
Mr. James Davis
davis@mail.ic.edu
734-253-2311
(Active)

MINNESOTA

Farmington
Mr. Steve Clark
612-303-4215
(Trying to Form)

MISSOURI

St. Louis 
Mr. Demetrios G. Tsikalas
demetrios.tsikalas@gmail.com
314-323-2838
(Active: Meets almost every month)

NEVADA

Las Vegas
Mr. John Lynn Gullickson
johnlynngullickson@hotmail.com
702-354-8657
(Trying to Form)

NEW HAMPSHIRE

Wolfeboro
Mr. James O'Rourke
jorourke39@icloud.com
(Active: Meets bimonthly, except in the summer, on the first and third Tuesdays in the morning at St. Katharine Drexel Parish in Alton)

NEW JERSEY

Allenwood
Mr. Bill Lang
earlang@verizon.net
732-292-3044 / 732- 682-5397
(Trying to Form)

NEW YORK

Earlton
Mr. Wayne Sheridan
waysher@hotmail.com
207-350-6098
(Trying to Form)

New York
Ms. Nona Aguilar
Nona2000@aol.com
212-532-5129
(Active)

Rochester
Mr. James P. Burns III and Ms. Alisia Chase
a.gracechase@gmail.com
585-794-2721

NEW MEXICO

Los Alamos
Mr. Andrew Henrick
ahenrick@me.com
610-620-5583
(Trying to Form)

NORTH CAROLINA

Durham (Duke University)
Mr. Dale Steinacker
DLSteinacker@gmail.com
410-979-1226
(Active: Once a month on Friday at 3:30 p.m. at the Center for Christianity and Scholarship)

Eastern North Carolina
Dr. Mark D. Atkinson
gala_atkinson@hotmail.com
(Active: Meets the first Friday of each month at 5:30 p.m. at King's Barbecue Restaurant in Kinston)

Charlotte
Mr. Taylor Schmidt
taylor.g.schmidt@gmail.com
336-740-2774
(Active: Meets second Friday of each month at Olde Mecklenburg Brewery)

OHIO

Columbus
Mr. Adam Pasternack
firstthingscolumbus@gmail.com
(Trying to Form)

Steubenville
Ms. Prudence Robertson
mprobertson97@gmail.com
(Trying to Form)

OKLAHOMA

Oklahoma City 
Mr. Jason Sutton
suttonlawokc@gmail.com 
 405-328-8382
(Trying to Form)

Tulsa
Mr. Robert Bearer
bbearer@barberbartz.com
918-599-7755
(Active)

OREGON

Milwaukie (near Portland)
Mr. Phil DiGregorio
phild57@msn.com
971-409-0641

PENNSYLVANIA

Lancaster
Mr. Steven Wissler
swissler@yahoo.com
717-723-9319
(Active: Meets four times a year in March, May, September, and November on the third Thursday from 6:30 to 8:00 p.m. at the Lititz Public Library)

Lehigh Valley / Allentown area
Mr. and Mrs. Frank and Molly DeVito
frankdevito12@gmail.com or devitomolly@gmail.com
(Active: Meets third Wednesday of every month)

Philadelphia
Ms. Deborah Conley
dconleygorgas@msn.com
215-843-2852
(Trying to Form)

Pittsburgh
Mr. Daniel Barbero
rofterspittsburgh@protonmail.com
(Trying to Form)

State College / Altoona
Mr. Shelby Bowden
ShelbyMBowden@gmail.com
864-630-4788
(Active: Meets once a month in State College)

RHODE ISLAND

Providence
Mr. David Zizik
dzizik@ziziklaw.com
401-265-5151
(Trying to Form)

SOUTH CAROLINA

Anderson
Mr. Ray Ireland
inra62467@gmail.com
(Active: Meets second Tuesday of the month)

Beaufort
Mr. David Simpson
dlsimpsonjr@gmail.com
(Active: Meets second Tuesday of the month at noon at Blackstone's)

Kingstree
Fr. Scott Francis Binet
SFBRome2@hotmail.com
(Trying to Form) 

TEXAS

Austin
Karl Stephan
ks22@txstate.edu
512-754-9760
(Active: Meets every third Monday, except for the double-month issues, at St. Francis Anglican Church)

Dallas
Mr. Curt Lampkin
curtlampkin@charter.net
817-444-6677
(Active: Meets last Saturday of the month)

Dallas / Fort Worth
Mr. Aaron Closson
adclosson@gmail.com
972-898-6472
(Active)

Denton
Mr. Michael Morris
michaelraymondmorris@gmail.com
(Trying to Form)

Houston
Mr. Justin Baker
mail4justinbaker@gmail.com
281-546-9801
(Trying to Form)

Mount Pleasant
Mr. Drew Nelson and Mr. Mike Schutt
schutt.mike@gmail.com
(Trying to Form)

San Antonio
Phil Strauch Jr.
pasjr@sbcglobal.net 
210-494-6320
(Active: Meets almost monthly)

UTAH

Logan
Mr. Isaiah Jones
isaiah.jones@usu.edu
478-361-0259
(Trying to Form)

VIRGINIA

Charlottesville
Mr. Edward Maillet
edmaillet@centurylink.net
(Active) 

Virginia Beach / Hampton Roads
Mr. Jerry Wasserberg
jerrylwass@gmail.com
(Trying to form)

Reston / Online
Mr. Bob Bowe
bdbo2@verizon.net
(Active: Meets online, email Bob Bowe for more information, include “ROFTers” in the subject line)

WASHINGTON

Langley
Mr. and Mrs. Fred and Carol Olson
skylark@whidbey.com
360-579-4350
(Trying to Form)

La Connor
Mr. Richard Doerflinger
doerfling@msn.com
240-893-1434
(Active)

Bellevue
Ms. Kathi Lehr
kathilehr@comcast.net
206 755-3411
(Active: Meets third Thursday of the month in Bellevue, contact Kathi Lehr to confirm)

WISCONSIN

Kenosha
Ms. Bethany Gates
bethanygates@gmail.com
(Trying to Form)

Oshkosh
Ms. Vicki Marxen
vmarxen@new.rr.com
920-385-0022
(Trying to Form)

Racine
Mr. Fred Beuttler
fredbeuttler@gmail.com
(Active: Meets once a month on Sundays evenings) 

CANADA

Ottawa
Mr. Daniel Bezalel Richardsen and Mr. Joel Reinhardt
ROFTERS.Ottawa@gmail.com
613-799-0787
(Active)

Victoria
Mrs. Kathryn Kearney
kathrynkearney52@gmail.com
778-433-7698
(Active: Meets once a month)

AUSTRALIA

Canberra
Mr. Mike Swan
mike.swan1951@gmail.com
(Active)

Sydney
Mr. Patrice Daly
rofterssydney@gmail.com
(Trying to Form)

JAPAN

Tokyo
Mr. Martin Triggs
triggs17@yahoo.com
(Trying to Form)